Skip to content

November 18, 2012

1

Bavette’s Bar and Boeuf

by gastronomicbypass

In one word – Comforting

Location – 218 W Kinzie (Kinzie and Wells)

Food – I had no idea what to expect from Bavette’s (you know, other than bar and beef) and ended up being pleasantly surprised.  The cuisine is ideal for the onset of winter – rich comfort food.  I ended up having the burger, which was the perfect size for this hungry gal. I added a side of pomme frite because I was on a calorie binge. Did I stop there?  Of course not. I topped off the meal with creamed spinach that had bleu cheese and caramelized onions.   Did I have indigestion after that decadent meal?  Yes.  Was it worth it?  Yes.  Would I come back?  In an instant.

Drink –The place feels like a 20’s speakeasy.  The drink list fit the environment perfectly.  I ended up going for the French 75, which was large, tasty and lasted me through the entire meal.

Service – Our server was chatty, and she provided good recommendations on the food and drink front.

Scene – This is where the restaurant really flourishes.  When I sat down in our round booth, I actually felt like I was taken to another time period. The restaurant is decorated like a 20’s speakeasy.  Everything in the restaurant aligns with that theme, from the seats to the bartender’s outfits.  It’s a really fun experience.

Occasion – The occasion set for Bavette’s is vast.  I could see this as a fun date spot or a good place with the girls or the guys.  I’m considering having my next birthday party here.

Price – I spent $48 with tax and tip.  The cost per calorie made this a bargain.

If you like, try…Gilt (same owner)

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Beatrice
    Nov 24 2012

    I am so happy that you are back in action. I missed your reviews.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

