Skip to content

September 9, 2012

Trencherman

by gastronomicbypass

Website

In one word – Omigod

Location – 2039 W. North Avenue (North and Damen)

Food – I came to Trencherman based on several raving recommendations from friends. They shouldn’t have raved, they should have mandated that I come to this restaurant. I have been eating several lukewarm to moderate meals lately, Trencherman gave me hope again in the Chicago food scene. I left the restaurant surprised and thoroughly satisfied. You are supposed to share these small plates, so we went for it:

  • Heirloom Tomato Salad – Where do they get their produce?  Because the flavors of the tomato were incredibly pronounced. They add basil, toasted almonds and ice cream (which works).  The dish was unreal.
  • Corn Tortellini – Fresh pasta served in a broth with sliced zucchini and squash.  Lovely, light and slightly sweet
  • Kale – Roasted kale with fennel. When I got the perfect bit of all the ingredients, my love for this dish went through the roof
  • Zucchini Soup – Bright and cool. Made me actually like cold soups.
  • Salmon with an Olive and Sesame Crust, served with broccoli humus and beets – THIS DISH MADE ME WANT TO BE A BETTER PERSON. This was the best salmon I had ever had – a combination of an amazing piece of fish and knowing how to cook it. It felt like I was eating sashimi.  I was completely dumbfounded by the quality.
  • Short Rib – Surprisingly my least favorite dish…only because the other dishes were unacceptably delicious.
  • Coffee Cake – A gingerbread coffee cake served with ice cream, wafers and meringue. The best ending to a fantastic meal.

I know I’m being uncharacteristically effusive about this meal.  That’s because this restaurant deserves this praise.

Drink – Really amazing list of cocktails here. I decided to go with a single glass of prosecco, it was perfectly crisp and complimented my meal well.

Service – You would think that a meal this good would require stuffiness in service. Not the case here. Our server was funny and patient with all of my questions. I wanted to be his friend.

Scene – This restaurant is in the old Turkish Bath House. Beautiful space inside, warm but not too formal.

Occasion – I came here with friends for our quarterly indulgence dinner. This place is also ideal for a special date or to impress parents.

Price – I spent $60 with tax and tip.  Given the quality of the meal, I felt like it was worth every penny.

If you like, try…Balena, Nightwood

Read more from Blogroll

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

