Skip to content

April 11, 2012

Nellcote

by gastronomicbypass

Typically I don’t append my reviews too often.  However, I had an experience at Nellcote for brunch this Sunday, which merits a rescinding of my initial opinion.  After a 45 minute wait, we were seated at a table that was available when we arrived at the restaurant.  Then the food came out of the kitchen at a record slow pace (after the manager told us that the reason for the delay in being seated was to ensure we didn’t have to wait 45 minutes for food).  And three hours later, we finished the meal.  I was baffled with how long the service / food was delivered.  While the entire meal was comped, I was not satisfied.  I would rather have well functioning operations – that’s why I go to a restaurant.  My advice is to avoid Nellcote until they figure out how to deal with the element of patrons in their restaurant.

 

Website

In one word – Elegant

Location – 833 W. Randolph (Randolph & Green)

Food – We started with the shaved pumpkin, which is literally that, shaved pieces of pumpkin (with pickled persimmon, mint, gouda and almonds).  While it’s fresh tasting, note that the portion is very small (as are most of the portions here).  We then had the saffron risotto, which was served with fava beans, bone marrow, pecorino and gold leaf.  Good, not great.  Not worth ordering again.  We ended with the grilled sturgeon with english peas, vegetable fricasse, sorrel and pancetta – this was my favorite item of the night.  Nellcote makes their pizzas with flour made in-house, so I felt compelled to also order the tomato sauce pizza (they are about 9″ and could easily serve one person to fullness).  Maybe it’s because I ordered the pizza without cheese, but I wasn’t that impressed.  Someone else get one with cheese and report back.

Drink – I had the Vodka cocktail which has Grey Goose, orgeat and mint.  It’s a good light drink that’s not too sweet.

Service – My eating partner has a gluten allergy, and I was really pleased that our server had a sheet of paper outlining what my eating partner could and could not eat.  Other than that she was pleasant and chatty, no complaints.

Scene – I would describe the space as trendy elegant.  This old Marche space has been transformed into a sleek  spot.  There is a bar area that enables patrons to people watch over the entire restaurant and reminds me of some of my old Manhattan haunts.

Occasion – I think this is an ideal place for a girls night or a festive date.

Price – March is my birthday month, so several of my meals have been gifts from my eating partners.  But, if I were to guess, I think you could eat here for about $45-50/person.

If you like, try – Tavernita, Girl & the Goat, Avec

Read more from Date Locale, West Loop

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

