Skip to content

March 7, 2012

Brunch

by gastronomicbypass

Website

In one word – Indulgent

Location – 644 N. Orleans (Orleans & Erie)

Food – True to its name, you can get any and all brunch options at Brunch.  I had a hard time making a decision, but ended up getting an appetizer of seared blueberry muffin tops to start (because every brunch requires an appetizer course) and then went on to the Tower of Power.  Yes, I fell for the allure of the name and the description (two scrambled eggs with vanilla bean, maple glazed bacon, zucchini with white cheddar and tarragon pesto aioli served with Brunch potatoes).  I made it through about a third of the dish.  It’s so filling – not sure I would choose it again.  Next time, I’m going to follow my heart and get the red velvet pancakes.

Drink – Intelligensia coffee.  I was happy.

Service – I asked a lot of questions of our server, and he was super patient with me and made sure all my requests were accommodated.

Scene – Overall, it’s pretty low key in here.  My only issue was that the 2 top tables were far too close to each other.  I noticed that the girl at the table next to me had to plug one of her ears in order to hear her eating companion speak (because obviously I wasn’t going to make it easier for her by lowering my voice).  Spreading out the tables a bit would make a world of difference.

Occasion – Come here for your normal brunch occasion.  It’s super casual in here, but since the tables are close, do us a favor and shower first.

Price – $20.72 for my entree, coffee and a small orange juice.  That worked for me.

If you like, try – Orange, Yolk

Read more from Blogroll, Brunch, Casual, River North

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

