Skip to content

January 1, 2012

Doughnut Vault

by gastronomicbypass

Website

In one word – Patience

Location – 401 1/2 N. Franklin (Franklin and Kinzie)

Food – I had read so much hype about the Doughnut Vault, I had to try it myself.  To obtain a doughnut from the Doughnut Vault, you stand in a long line that weaves from Franklin onto Kinzie for minimum 45 minutes (my wait on a Saturday was 65 minutes).  And when you finally are able to enter the vault, which can fit 5 people max, you can order a selection of doughnuts.  When I finally got in the special birthday cake doughnut was sold out (mega FAIL), so I tried the chestnut and the chocolate glazed doughnuts.  Beware, these doughnuts are giant.  I truly believe that a normal sized human being should/can only have half a doughnut (unless feeling sick from overindulging in sugar is your thing).  The doughnuts were special.  Whether it was worth the wait is debatable, but I think everyone should have the Doughnut Vault at least once.

Drink – You can get Metropolis Coffee here, which tasted great to me after my long uncaffeinated wait.

Service – You really only interact with the cashier for about a minute.  But, she was fast, so I was appreciative.  It’s cash only, so leave the plastic at home.

Scene – So much of the experience is the wait.  When you stand in line for that long, you are forced to become friendly with your neighboring fellow patrons (whether you want to or not).  So, it became a very social, community experience.  We learned about where our neighbors were from, what they liked and didn’t like about living in the city and which doughnuts they were going to buy.  Misanthropes, you’ve been warn.

Occasion – I dragged my friend with me to stand in line for over an hour. She was not pleased.  Find a patient person to go with.

Price – $10 for 3 doughnuts and a coffee.

If you like, try – Krispy Kreme?

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

