Skip to content

December 30, 2011

Grahamwich by Graham Elliot

by gastronomicbypass

Website

In one word – Gourmet

Location – 615 N. State (State and Ontario)

Food – I am always open to gourmet chefs opening affordable spots for us less-fancy folks (see – Rick Bayless and all his jazz at Macy’s and Xoco).  Graham Elliot did the same with this little sandwich spot on State.  I opted for the vegetarian option on the menu, the Portobello Gyro, which had these great marinated portobello mushrooms with tomatoes, cucumber, tzatiki and feta cheese.  All of it was served on a great pita.  It was the most messy sandwich I’ve eaten in a while, but I thought it was totally worth it.  My eating partner had the same and came to the same satisfied conclusion.  I was full, but not too full after lunch.  They also had popcorn and soft serve ice cream, which I plan to indulge in at some point.

Drink – I didn’t try them, but they make their own sodas here and have exotic-sounding flavors like vanilla kola.

Service – There is no table service.  You order at a register and the cashier puts your order into a fancy iPad (how modern of them!).  It took them about 5 minutes to make our sandwich.  Works for me.

Scene – When I came, there were many families of tourists.  The eating experience is fast, so they shouldn’t bother you too much.  Worst comes to worst, take your food to go.

Occasion – When your parents come to the city and you need a lunch break as you are shopping on Michigan and State, come here.

Price – With tax, my sandwich was $8.88.

If you like, try – Xoco, Hannah’s Bretzel

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

