Skip to content

December 23, 2011

Meze Tapas Lounge

by gastronomicbypass

In one word – Lackluster

Location – 205 N. Peoria (Peoria and Lake)

Food – So I’m going to be frank, I was really not impressed by Meze.  The food was just adaquate.  Let’s start with the best, which were the bacon wrapped dates.  Obvi, you can’t really mess those up (unless they’re cold).  And, ours were piping hot, so I was happy.  The rest of the meal was just “eh.”  We had the Goat Cheese and Tomato Tart, which felt like a Trader Joe’s frozen appetizer to me.  Not impressed.  Then we had the Grilled Baby Lambchops with Red Pepper Puree.  I felt like it was defrosted and then served.  Maybe it wasn’t, but it felt like it was and that’s what counts to me.  Finally we had the Greek Pomme Frites.  They are french fries.  How do you mess them up?  They were soggy and I didn’t think that the feta cheese enhanced the dish (I can’t believe I just said that).

Drink – I had the Pinot Noir, which I actually liked.  I wish I had written the name down so I can get it on my next trip to Trader Joe’s (ha.).

Service – My favorite moment during the meal was when our server asked us if we needed more time to decide what we wanted to order and when we said yes, he responded with “Ok, I’ll come back in 3 minutes.”  Even though he was precise at the beginning, it later became impossible to get his attention for the rest of the meal.  I had to resort to waving my arms over my head to get his attention (which I’m not above doing).

Scene – When we came it was empty, like really empty.  But, I blame that on going during the holidays when most seem to be out of town.  If it were to be filled, I would imagine that this would be a place to dress to impress.

Occasion – You could come here with friends or on a date…that is if you were to come here at all (aw snap, GB).

Price – My portion of the meal was $53 with tax and tip. So not worth it.

If you like, try – Cafe Ba-ba-reeba, Cafe Iberico, Emilios, really any other tapas place

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

