Skip to content

October 23, 2011

Publican

by gastronomicbypass

Website

In one word –Accomodating

Location – 837 W. Fulton (Fulton and Green)

Food – Among my eating partners, there was a gluten allergy and a shellfish allergy.  Our server didn’t flinch and was knowledgeable about what was in bounds and out of bounds for us.  I was impressed by the willingness to accommodate.  And even with our restrictions, holy food coma.  You go to the Publican for meat – and mission accomplished.  We started with the Taste of 3 Hams, which was consisted of a platter of serrano, country ham and an american cut from Iowa.  This dish is falsely named – it is actually just 3 Hams.  There is so much pig on this plate, so order only if you are a big eater.  We then partook in the Hamachi Crudo, which was a great lighter option.  Then the Half Grilled Chicken with Summer Sausage and Frites appeared (how much did we order?).  The chicken was succulent and the sausage was nicely charred (it wasn’t my favorite, but my eating partners loved it).  I wasn’t impressed with the frites, but let’s be real, after eating 3 pigs on a plate, I didn’t need to eat french fries.  What dazzled my palette was the Suckling Pig – it was sweet and simple.  It’s just a bowl of confit-style pig.  Moving to the sides (yes, my eating partners and I are fatties), I was most impressed by the Brussel Sprouts, that are served with both burrata cheese AND parmesan.  I was really excited by the Squash Gratin, but let down in execution – I just thought the cheese was too overpowering (yes, I know what gratin is, but still).  The Cauliflower was forgettable.

Drink – We drank cider – which was perfect.  With the amount we ate, we couldn’t afford to get full on beer.  Try both the Basa Jaun and the E.B. Poire.

Service – I mentioned how accommodating and knowledgeable our server was.  Overall I found service to be very good.

Scene – We were seated at the communal table, so I found it a delicate balance of shouting to be heard and speaking softly enough so that my gossip didn’t become common knowledge for my stranger neighbors.  Also, single ladies – there are a lot of men in this restaurant.

Occasion – This is a great place for groups.  Some of the tables are singled off into pig pen type set-ups ideal for parties of 4.  I think the occasions to come to the Publican are varied and broad – anything from a nice Friday out to a special birthday or anniversary.

Price – When you order the farm, you pay for it.  I paid $63 for my share including tax and tip.

If you like, try…avec, Longman & Eagle

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

