Skip to content

October 18, 2011

1

Sable

by gastronomicbypass

Website

In one word – Thoughtful

Location – 505 N. State Street (State and Illinois)

Food – I had heard good things about Sable but wanted to evaluate it myself.   It’s all about sharing small plates – so we devoured the following:  Bacon wrapped dates stuffed with bleu cheese, bacon jam, tuna tartar tostadas and the buttermilk chicken & waffles.  I was less into the tuna and chicken & waffles – they just didn’t stand out.  The bacon jam, however, was reason enough for me to come back.

Drink – My eating partner and I each grabbed a glass of wine upon recommendation of our server.  I have heard that the cocktails are worth trying here, I just didn’t have it in me to go for it.

Service – Here is where Sable really stands out.  First, our server was nice and informative.  He stopped us from ordering a flatbread because he said we’d be getting too much food then (oink, oink).  What I was most impressed with was this:  My eating partner and I were celebrating a birthday, and they gave her adorably packaged cake mix from Sable and a card signed by the staff to recognize that day – and this was at the table when we sat down.  While I do love a mariachi band serenading a table with “Feliz Cumpleanos,” I did really appreciate the thoughtful and distinctive manner that Sable celebrates an occasion.

Scene – We ate on the early side, so things weren’t hopping yet (seems to be a trend in my life lately).  However, when the night gets going, the bar is a good place to be seen.

Occasion – Come on a date or a dinner with the gal pals.  You need to come soon because the chef there is going to be on Top Chef come November 2.  After that airs, I assume Sable will suffer from “Girl & the Goat” syndrome – you will only be able to get a reservation at 4:15 pm three months from now.  The restaurant is right where all the tourist roll, so we will be really screwed to get in.

Dress – Because of the scene, put some effort into it.  Squeeze into your skinny jeans or something.

Price – It’s a nice night out.  We skimped and still spent $47 per person.

If you like, try…Girl & the Goat, Publican, avec

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

