Skip to content

October 15, 2011

Patron’s Hacienda

by gastronomicbypass

Website

In one word – Empty

Location – 314 W. Erie (Erie & Orleans)

Food – Truth be told, I didn’t eat all that much at Patron’s Hacienda because I used this week’s Gilt City deal which just included  appetizers.  I went for the Elotitos (corn coated with deliciousness like chili powder and butter).  It’s hard to mess it up, and luckily they did not.  My eating partner went rogue and chose a non-Mexican food option – the exotic chicken fingers and fries.  They seemed to be able to deliver on her expectations.  We managed to finagle some free guacamole as well – it was no Adobo Grill, but I still devoured it.

Drink – I picked the Cadillac Margarita made with Tres Generaciones Reposado Tequila.  I thought it was fine – I don’t have the best palate to discern the differences between different margaritas beyond “it’s too sweet.”  My eating partner grabbed the Mango Margarita, which she did think was too sweet.

Service – No complaints here, we sat at the bar and were always attended to.

Scene – Despite the very authentic Mexican decor, you can still tell this place used to be Chicago’s Coyote Ugly.  During primetime eating hours, it was dead.  Perhaps because they still haven’t had their grand opening?  Maybe it’s hopping during bar hours? If you come here and there are more than 20 people in the space, let me know.

Occasion – I could see this being a stop on a River North bar crawl – just between Citizen and any of the Franklin Street clubs.

Dress – I came from work and fit in just fine.  I imagine the later you are there, the more clubby you need to look.

Price – The margaritas are $8-12 a piece.  Appetizers tend to be around $8.  Legit food like steaks are over $20 (feels cheap for steak, right?  not necessarily a good thing).

If you like, try…Uncle Julio’s Hacienda, Moe’s Cantina

Read more from Mexican Food, River North

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

