Skip to content

October 11, 2011

5

Farmhouse

by gastronomicbypass

Website

In one word – Comforting

Location – 228 W. Chicago (Chicago and Franklin)

Food – Farmhouse boasts a robust menu of Midwestern comfort food.  They claim to make their own burgers, sausages, condiments and sodas from scratch.  According to my taste buds, this is no lie.  My eating partner and I started out by sharing the fried cheese curds.  The experience was better than being at a county fair in Wisconsin.  I was embarrassed by how aggressively I attacked the appetizer, but I really wanted to get more than my fair share of the dish.  As the main, we cut the calories and shared the veggie burger (my eating partner doesn’t do the meat).  I will say with confidence that this veggie burger (mushroom-based) was the most satisfying one I have ever had.  It didn’t hurt that it was topped with gouda, roasted garlic mayo, not to mention the home-made fries on the side.

Drink – If the Midwestern food doesn’t win you over, perhaps the Midwestern drink will.  I have never seen such an extensive list of Midwest craft beers in a restaurant.  Because I’m so sophisticated, I picked an “import” – the Ommegang Hennepin from Cooperstown, NY.  Very pleased with the choice.

Service – I found our server to be very amicable and very knowledgeable when answering our beer questions.  She also affirmed our food decisions, which I always appreciate when dining at a place for the first time.

Scene – The restaurant is not that big, so there are a lot of people crammed into a relative small space.  As a result, it’s loud and feels filled with energy.  Beyond that, everyone there is really casual – It’s kind of weird to get dolled up for Midwest comfort food and craft beer.

Occasion – My impression is that it’s better to go with a smaller party just because of the size of the tables and restaurants.  However, I may not go for a first date just because it’s loud.  Go once your relationship is really stable and you’d rather focus on cheese curds than each other.

Dress – Save the fancy dress for Hubbard Street.  Come as you are in jeans.

Price – #Winning!  $20 to share cheese curds, a burger and a craft beer (I didn’t share the beer, obvi).  If you are a bigger eater than my dieting self, then you’ll probably spend $25-30.

If you like, try…Hopleaf

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Koren
    Oct 11 2011

    Yay!! So excited for the return of Gastronomic Bypass.

    Reply
  2. carl
    Oct 12 2011

    Whos the chef?

    Reply
  3. Beatrice
    Oct 12 2011

    I missed GB. So happy you are back!!

    –Beatrice

    Reply
  4. GB
    Oct 12 2011

    Carl – According to GrubStreet, the chef is Eric Mansavage.

    Reply
  5. Nov 6 2011

    I went back to Farmhouse this week and learned about the upstairs. You can definitely come here with a group having seen their extra space! GB

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

