Skip to content

December 30, 2008

Toast Two

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 2046 N. Damen (Dickens and Damen)

In one word – Filling

Food – This is the sister to the original Toast (in Lincoln Park). Come here to fill up on brunch or lunch. I was starving, so I went big for the veggie eggs Benedict. Despite being so hungry, I barely could finish half of it. The eggs Benedict are served with cooked spinach and then are doused in hollandaise sauce. The dish is served with house potatoes. So overall, delicious. But I reached a point when it was just too much for me. Too much food, too much sauce. I think the key is to stop when you’re ahead here. My eating partners took on the chicken chutney salad. It looked very healthy…My other eating partner enjoyed the seared ahi tuna sandwich.

Drink – The coffee and tea at Toast is from Julius Meinl. I had the apple tea, which possibly was the most aromatic beverage I’ve ever ingested. Totally recommend it!

Service – So one eating partner wanted to substitute his choice of potato salad or hash as the side included with his dish with fruit. The server said no problem. With his meal came the best looking fruit cup I had ever seen. The server neglected to tell us that he would be charged a pretty penny for the fruit cup and it would NOT be included as a side as we assumed.

Scene – The place is super casual, very relaxed.  You’ll see families, friends, couples, babies.  It’s really quite beautiful.  As long as the baby is not crying.

Dress – This is a lunch and brunch place, so no need for fancy dress.  I fit right in with jeans, Uggs (it was cold!) and a long sleeved T.

Cost – For food, drink, tax and tip, I paid $15.  I thought for all that food, it was a decent deal.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

