Skip to content

December 20, 2008

Mexique

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 1529 W Chicago Ave (between Armour & Ashland)

In one word – Haricots verts (GB Note:  BYOBoy, this is TWO words…just saying)

Food – Concept : Mexican with an emphasis on French influence. Sounds great, but it didn’t quite come together on a plate. The brunch options were limited, but the place smelled great nonetheless. Fresh.

Any restaurant that calls itself French should make a good quiche, so I tried it here. *Sigh* It was a bit soggy and I think it had deli ham in it? I was confused, and not really into my meal. My date had the stuffed crepes, which were saved by the poblano sauce. Her green beans were amazing though. Score one for the French.

I think my hesitation with this place is that I’m not so sure what they’re trying to do with the whole Mex/French thing. It’s not fusion. It’s more like a highlighting of French influences in Mexican cuisine resulting from the occupation (circa 1860). Muy muy Meta. It has great potential, so I will be coming back for dinner, or for the mussels (when I have baller status).

Drink – I had a Bloody Mary (with cucumber!), my date, a Mimosa. Both delicious. I was surprised to hear there was no espresso. Minus French points.

Service – No line, no wait. There were maybe four other groups there on a Sunday. We were seated promptly. Our orders were taken quickly. I think my quiche delayed our meals a bit, but aside from that, I was impressed with how speedy they were. I am a klutz and spilled my drink and our server brought me a new one and said, “It was the glass’s fault.” Cute.

Scene – Super casual. The décor is great. The space is small, but they use it well. I personally take all things French very seriously, but I also don’t need an occasion to dress up. Another party had a girl with a women’s lacrosse hoodie from my alma mater, and I was close to saying “Put a real shirt on girl, you’re making me look bad!” Don’t wear school/sports/hoodies to brunch.

Occasion – This could be a nice dinner date. Or a brunch for four?

Cost – Solid $15, $20 with drink.

If you like…, try – Bom Bon Americano, Mundial, Maize.

Written by BYOBoy

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

