Skip to content

July 13, 2008

1

Angels and Mariachis

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 1721 W. Division (Division and Hermitage)

http://www.angelschicago.com/

In one word – Michelada

Food – The way the owners describe their place a “taco bar and rock cantina” is amazingly accurate. My eating partner and I stopped here for a late night bite. I sampled the tacos al pastor (pork). My dish was a platter full of pork with grilled vegetables. On the side I was given tortillas to make tacos (each order gives you 3-4 tacos). The food was fine, but nothing to get particularly excited about. I don’t think I would come here for a full dinner again. Instead, I might grab an fail-safe appetizer like nachos or guacamole.

Drink – So my eating partner told me about this drink called a Michelada. Maybe you’re more drink saavy than I, but this was my first foray into this beer cocktail. It feels like you’re drinking a Bloody Mary meets Margarita meets beer. It was a whole lot of flavor, more than I could handle.

Service – We were there late on a Saturday night. By that point in the night, most people were there just for drinks instead of an actual meal. Despite this, our server paid enough attention to us. I couldn’t hear most of what he said though because the restaurant was SO loud.

Scene – This place is like eating during Dia de los Muertos all year long. I stared at a bunch of skulls hanging on the wall through out the meal. Totally distracting. I stand by my opinion that Wicker Park is the new Lincoln Park. So, if you’re there late at night, expect to see at least one Trixie crying in the bathroom because she’s reading too much into the fact that her crush didn’t acknowledge her when he walked in that evening.

Dress – If you’re me, you’ll wear a comfortable cotton dress with appropriate give (because you know you’ll finish that plate of nachos). Otherwise, you can get by with some clever hipster t-shirt and jeans.

Cost – Tacos and a Michelada cost me $16. If I liked the meal more, I would have considered this a steal.

If you like, try…Uncle Julio’s Hacienda, Zapatista

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Hannah
    Jul 14 2008

    I am with you on the loudness and decor factors, but I have to give two thumbs up to my fish tacos there. Then again, maybe it was just the fact that we were eating dinner #2 that made them taste so good…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

