Skip to content

July 10, 2008

Epic Burger

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 517 S. State (State and Congress)

http://www.epicburger.com

In one word – Refreshing

Food – Having just finished Omnivore’s Dilemma, I am a bit wary of my food of late.  Lucky for me, Epic Burger has arrived in the Loop.  EB dubs itself as the place with a more mindful burger.  Finally, we have a place to get all natural burgers in Chicago, I am home!  When I ordered my junior all-natural beef burger, I was asked if I wanted a wheat bun (yes), if I wanted grilled or raw onions (grilled), what kind of cheese I wanted (Wisconsin cheddar), if I wanted nitrate-free bacon (obvi) and if I wanted a cage-free fried egg on top of the burger (not this time).  I finished the burger fast, it was delicious and didn’t leave me with that “I ate too much grease, roll me to my bed” feeling.  The fries come with sea salt (sizable portion).  If you don’t do the beef, you can get a turkey burger, chicken sandwich or a portabella mushroom sandwich.

Beverages – They have milkshakes and smoothies!  A burger and a smoothie, I’m not sure if I could think of a better combo.  One of my eating partners tried the Lemon Squeeze; it seemed like it hit the spot.

Service – There’s not all that much to it, you order at the counter and pay.  Then they bring your food to you (Corner Bakery style).  However, even with that little of interaction, I was impressed.  The staff was really courteous.

Scene – It’s a burger joint, so there’s no one to impress here.  Given that it’s near the DePaul Loop Campus and Columbia College, you can expect to see students here as well as South Loop locals.  All the stuff in the restaurant is eco-friendly:  the cups, the plates, the chairs, everything.  I appreciate that; you feel like EB is trying to make a difference in the world.  And by patronizing it, I have completed my ecological duty for the day.

Dress – Again, you’re seeing students here.  Anything more than jeans is too formal.

Cost – You can get a burger, fries and a drink for $10.  I think that’s a deal for healthy fast food.

If you like, try…Veggie Bite

Read more from Casual, Diner, Loop, South Loop

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

