Skip to content

February 8, 2008

1

Butterfly Sushi Bar and Thai Cuisine

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 1156 W. Grand (Grand and Racine)

In one word – Cheap!

Food – Because of a raving recommendation from a GB reader, I had kind of high expectations for Butterfly.  I was not disappointed!  The menu is filled with both Japanese and Thai options.  One eating partner went the Thai route ordering the Chicken Pad Thai.  She seemed to be really happy with it.   Our only comment was that it would have been helpful to have red pepper at the table to amp up the spice.  My other eating partner and I shared a few rolls, the avocado roll and crunchy spicy tuna roll.  We also shared the Rama Noodles (peanut noodles) with both tofu and chicken.  This was such comfort food, I loved it!  An order of salmon nigiri was also ordered at the table, which looked really fresh.  After our meal, our server brought out dessert on the house.  It was piece of cheesecake, which likely was straight out of the Sara Lee box.  But, who am I to complain?  It was free!

Drink – The place is BYOB with no corkage fee.  This helps keep the cost cheap!

Service – I was nervous about the service from the reviews I had read on Yelp prior to going.  The service wasn’t amazing, but it don’t have any genuine complaints.  When I walked in, they didn’t have our reservation written down, but they were still able to seat me immediately.  When you give me free cheesecake for no reason, any possible  issues are forgiven.

Scene – For such a bargain eat, the feel of the place is pretty trendy.  There’s low lights (a party sitting down the way from us pulled out a flashlight to read the menu) and orange accents.  My only issue with the decor was this one random silver squid-looking piece hanging from the ceiling.  My eating partners and I thought it was kind of distracting.  Come here with some girl friends or on a date.  I saw a group here for a birthday dinner too.

Dress – My gut is that on the weekends, the patrons look pretty cute, particularly if they’re there on dates.  I wore jeans and Pumas and still felt okay, but again I would feel comfortable in a sweatsuit at Trotter’s…

Cost – This was the best part.  For the rolls and entrees, I had to pay$11 (we split the tab in thirds).  I feel like this is the best bang for my buck in West Town.

If you like, try…Oysy, Mirai, Bistro Pacifico

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Katie
    Feb 8 2008

    delicious sushi and thai on the cheap – what’s not to like!?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

