Skip to content

December 29, 2007

4

Marigold

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 4832 N. Broadway (Broadway and Lawrence)

http://www.marigoldrestaurant.com

In one word – Winner

Food – I have been wanting to try the Indian cuisine at Marigold for a while as a result of several recommendations from fellow eaters. Finally the day arrived! Surveying the menu, I saw all Indian standards with little modern twists added to spice up the dishes. A couple of the options stood out. For example, one of the specials was an pear stuffed with paneer (cheese), which was then put in the oven for a carmelized effect. My eating partner finished it so fast that I didn’t even have to ask her what she thought. The proof was the licked clean plate. I started with lamb kofta (Indian lamb meatballs) – very impressive. Then I had the murg makhani (chicken with a creamy tomato sauce). I found it cleaner and less greasy than the typical makhanis you get on Devon. My eating partner had the vegetarian thali (a hodge podge of vegetarian dishes). She seemed to really relish in the chili-flavored corn. We then went further and indulged in a ginger creme brulee. I wasn’t hungry, more curious for a bite. It was a standard creme brulee, but with the ginger, it had even more flavor.

Drink – We were just going to get a glass of wine, but then we saw the cocktail list. We got caught up with the idea of Limca (an Indian soda) and cucumber essence in our drinks, so we ordered the Limca-tini and the Rangpuraana. My eating partner and I learned a lesson – if you’re not a cocktail drinker, even Limca won’t help you. When we could only take two sips our drinks, our waiter took pity on us, relieved us of the glasses and didn’t charge us. That was very nice of him. We instead ordered a glass of the A to Z pinot noir (me) and the Garnacha (eating partner). That sufficed just fine with the spicy meal.

Service – Our server, Neil, was great and made us feel at home. He was jovial and knowledgeable about the menu. He advised us well (with the exception of the cocktails). At the end of the meal, it felt like we had a new friend in Neil.

Occasion – Being in Uptown, the vibe is hip and still casual. There seemed to be a lot of double dates here. I wore a cotton dress with leggings (and thought I looked cute). My eating partner wore her good jeans with a fun sweater. Guys were dressed in jeans, fun t-shirts and stylish caps. I made a note to myself to bring my parents here. I think they’ll like the down-to-earth/innovative combination of the place.

Cost – Three courses, plus wine, tax and tip brought us to $51 each. Was it worth it? I think so, particularly because we were treating it as a special occasion spot. It was my eating partner’s birthday.

If you like, try…Green Zebra, Flo

Read more from Date Locale, Indian Food, Uptown
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hannah
    Dec 29 2007

    Neil, if you’re out there, call GB!
    Man with the acid-washed jeans with the gaping whole in the knee, please be advised that we are not living in the 80s anymore.

    I am taking my mom here too. I am still talking about our meal.

    Reply
  2. Jan 27 2008

    We went to Marigold again on Friday. Service was excellent. This time I tried the samosa, which was suprisingly good! I chose the fish option for my entree. It was light and not oily in the least. All in all, I thought it was a satisfactory meal!

    Reply
  3. Mo
    Feb 3 2008

    I’ve never tried Marigold, but I defer to the positive reviews in that respect. The reason I never tried Marigold is that I’ve eaten Indian cuisine all over (from Devon to Dubai) and this one is uncommonly expensive. $102 for a dinner for 2 is highway robbery, particularly if you are familiar with the cost of the ingredients that go into most Indian dishes. (Think about pennies, not dollars.) This review is not appropriate to this website if it’s to stay true to its “food for those who can barely afford it” motto.

    Reply
  4. Feb 5 2008

    Mo,

    I hear your complaint. In defense of myself, I did indicate that I came here for a special occasion meal. Is this my everyday eating? Not at all. If it were, I’d be filing for bankruptcy.

    In defense of the restaurant, I am Indian. So I, too, have eaten Indian cuisine from all over the world (from my mother’s kitchen to London to Mumbai). I have to say, the cuisine found at Marigold is on a different gourmet level to the food on Devon. Yes, it does seem odd that Indian cuisine could be so pricey. However, when you see the creativity of the menu, the quality of the ingredients and the perfection of the presentation, I really believe you’ll think it’s worth $51, too.

    But that’s just me.

    🙂

    GB

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

