Skip to content

November 19, 2007

1

Jerry’s

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 1938 W. Division (Division and Damen) and 1045 W. Madison (Madison and Aberdeen)

In one word – Sandwiches

Food – So I was supposed to meet a friend for lunch and told her I was in the mood for  soup and sandwich. She suggested Jerry’s. I walked in not realizing this was a sort of sandwich mecca. Remember when you learned about permutations and combinations in your high school math class, Jerry’s embodies those mathematical concepts. There is a sandwich for every combination of ingredients. The end result? This is a horrible place for indecisive people. I ended up with the salmon, bacon, grilled asparagus, smoked Gouda and honey mustard sandwich. You know what? I didn’t like it. Each of those ingredients in fantastic on its own, but together it wasn’t magic. Plus the salmon tasted fishy, not a good sign. I had two of the sides – mac and cheese and the creamed spinach. They were good, but not great.

Drink – The bar scene looked amazingly extensive, but at noon, I wasn’t ready to get my groove on. The water worked out just fine for me. They have a beer selection that rivals the Clarke Street Ale House if you’re interested.

Service – We were at the Wicker Park location, so the staff were the typical urban hipsters who run the neighborhood. Our server showed us just the right amount of apathy and kindness. We tipped him nicely.

Dress – This is actually hard for me to gauge as I came at lunchtime. The dress was pretty casual – jeans and puffy vests. However, I bet as the evening draws near, the attire becomes more skinny jeans and ironic tees.

Cost – For my sandwich, two sides and tip, I paid $13. I didn’t feel ripped off because the meal was pretty substantial.

If you like, try…Goodwin’s

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. HB
    Nov 25 2007

    I know you didn’t love your sandwich that day, but I think that I could pretty much eat the one I ordered about 3-4 days of the week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

