Skip to content

October 15, 2007

Salpicon

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 1252 N. Wells (Wells and Division)

http://www.salpicon.com

In one word – Broadway

Food – We came here for a friend’s birthday, so we were somewhat indulgent. Here’s what we ordered: guacamole picado (standard, but that’s good in my eyes) and queso empanizado (kind of reminds me of Greek saganaki). None of the entrees grabbed me that night, so I opted for two appetizers as my main course: Ensalada espinica con queso de cabra (spinach salad with goat cheese and sesame seeds, unexpectedly satisfying) and one of the specials, empanadas filled with lamb (also quite satisfying). Three of my eating partners had the chiles dona queta (peppers stuffed with veggies), which they were raving about. That might be the perfect vegetarian meal here. The other eating partner had the double-cut pork chop, which he said was just okay. For dessert, we had the tres leches cake. That was some good stuff. I would come back here just for that; it was like eating whipped cream (which is a good thing).

Drinks – We sampled the margaritas. Nothing amazing, but they quenched my thirst.

Service – This is where my “In one word” comes from. I had some issues with our server. I felt like he was using his time at our table as his audition for a Broadway revue, at any moment he was going to break out into a showtune complete with jazz hands. His performance was over the top. Telling me the specials doesn’t have to be done as a soliloquy. One thing I can say is that he knew his stuff. Every question we threw his way, he was able to answer in his stage voice. He was being shadowed by a trainee, which was a little bit awkward. The trainee kept crowding one of my eating partners when she and the Broadway server came by the table, the restaurant obviously hasn’t taught her about personal space yet.

Occasion – It’s not super cheap here, so it’s better to come when you have an occasion to celebrate. Birthdays, dates you want to impress, and anniversaries (not the super important ones) are perfect for this spot.

Dress – This is one of those places where if you make any effort, you’re okay. Old Town isn’t super formal, so nice jeans or a cute dress work.

Price – We split the meal and each paid $56 including tip. Like I said, not super cheap, but I was very full when we left.

If you like, try…Zocalo

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

