Skip to content

October 6, 2007

3

Frasca

by gastronomicbypass

So recently I came to Frasca for brunch.  I was pleasantly surprised by the lack of wait time and the actual cuisine.  I ordered the oatmeal pancakes, which totally hit the spot!  Bottomless mimosas are available (which sound great in theory, but I would assume bad in practice).  Nevertheless, a nice new addition to the brunch rotation!

Location – 3358 N. Paulina (Paulina, Roscoe, Lincoln)

In one word – Leisurely

Food – Come for Italian small plates. We ordered a small plate of olives with oranges. It was pretty good, though my eating partner and I agreed that the olives at avec are better. We then shared the caponata pizza, with eggplant, artichokes, goat cheese and red peppers. It was enjoyable but a little too messy for my liking.

Drink – It was warm out, so we ate al fresco and drank white wine. Perfection! I had the pinot bianco. The wine list is impressive.

Service – Our server did not really know about white wine, but other than that, everything was fine.  She recommended a chardonnay when we asked for a light white wine.  Even I know that’s wrong.  The manager came by to check on us during the meal, which I always appreciate. Without a reservation, we only had to wait 20 minutes to sit outside on a Friday night.

Occasion – You’ll see a mix of overly adorable West Lakeview families, dates and girls commiserating over not having dates.

Dress – Look cute, you could sport a dress. However, if you show up in jeans, you wouldn’t stand out.

Cost – For our shared appetizer, pizza and beverages, we each paid $30.

If you like, try…avec, Quartino

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. beatrice
    Oct 22 2007

    Great! I think I’d like to go apple picking. Thnaks for the suggestion.
    A devoted reader.

    Reply
  2. LA girls
    Oct 23 2007

    You went apple picking?? See, hanging out with your nieces has rubbed off on you…next thing I know, you’ll be going to spider exhibits…on your own!

    Reply
  3. Oct 24 2007

    That’s crazy talk. I only went apple picking to eat the apple doughnuts (amazing!) and drink apple cider. At the end of the day, food is my best motivation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

