Skip to content

September 9, 2007

Feast

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 1616 N. Damen (Damen, Milwaukee, North Avenue)

http://feastrestaurant.com

In one word – Variety

Food – I am always impressed by the array of options I have at Feast. A standby is their macaroni and cheese, but this time I tried a moderately healthier option: chipotle barbecue salmon with hot cakes and avocado salsa. While good, I did think that the barbecue sauce was overpowering and rather thick. Reminded me of barbecue sauce I buy at Jewel. My eating partners had the turkey burger and the seafood cobb salad. Both seemed satisfied with their meals.

Drink – I like the selection of beverages at Feast. I tried a white wine on special from the French region D’Oc. It seems to be the wine fad of late. The selection I had was very enjoyable.

Service – Initially I was skeptical of our server, a bit pushy, didn’t pour my eating partner’s Duvel well. However, as the meal went on, I warmed up to her. She had a biting sense of humor, kind of like me. Maybe we could be friends…

Occasion – Feast is a place to go with friends. I always see large groups here. You sometimes see dates as well.

Dress – It’s Wicker Park, so you won’t be alone if you go indie-hipster. The place has a casual feel, and that allows you to get away with any attire. However, I decided to put some effort into my look as I was inspired by the new Bravo show, Tim Gunn’s Guide to Style. While this is neither here nor there, I must share what I learned while watching that show: “You cannot control how you are perceived, but you can control how you present yourself.” Tell me you are not inspired by that.

Cost – For a glass of wine and satisfying meal, I paid $30 even. Not a bargain, but not overpriced in my opinion.

If you like, try…Lula, Parlor

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

