Skip to content

September 8, 2007

Sapore di Napoli

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 1406 W. Belmont (Belmont and Southport)

http://www.saporedinapoli.com

In one word – Cute

Food – If you haven’t figured it out by now, I love Neapolitan pizza. As a result, I was super excited about coming here. My eating partner and I shared one of the pizzas on special – it was abianca pizza with Italian sausage, carmelized onions, roasted red peppers and mozzerella. Delicioso! I truly enjoyed it and devoured my half of the pie. Then we decided to indulge in the gelato. I got mint chip and my eating partner got the chocolate hazelnut. It had been a while since I had good gelato , so I was worried I’d be disappointed. No worries people, it was fantastic. My eating partner lived in Rome for a while, so when she gave the thumbs up on it, I knew it was quality. The big question: Was it better than Spacca Napoli in Lincoln Square? The answer: No, however the food is still well worth trying.

Drink – BYOB so you’ll save on cost. There is a $5 corkage fee.

Service – I’m a fan of places where the owner and/or chef interacts with the clientele. Here, the owner is running around taking orders, busing tables, basically making sure your experience is excellent. At no point did I feel neglected by the staff during our meal. And we weren’t rushed to leave either.

Occasion – I saw a lot of families and twosomes (either dates or friend get-togethers). I wouldn’t come here with a big group because the space of the restaurant is small.

Dress – It’s a local Lakeview establishment, so you have a wide range of clothing options that you can get away with. I came straight from work and was fine. You also have children in their end of summer shorts. No one looked twice.

Cost – We paid $15 each for a shared pizza and two gelati. The BYOB aspect helps you save on cost.

If you like, try…Frasca, Spacca Napoli

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

