Skip to content

August 13, 2007

Sheffield’s Beer and Wine Garden

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 3258 N. Sheffield (Sheffield and School)

http://www.sheffieldschicago.com/

In one word – Garden-esque

Food – This is a new addition at Sheffield’s. They now serve a barbecue menu, which works in my opinion. I had the BBQ Brisket Sandwich. I’ll be honest, I’m not a brisket connesieur, however it tasted right to me. You get the option of Carolina, Memphis or Texas barbecue sauce (I’m partial to Texas barbecue). The meal was served with fries and very mayo-y coleslaw. My eating partners ate the grilled cheese (the only substantial veggie sandwich on the menu) and finished it fast. I took that as a good sign.

Drink – Being a bar, there are lots of specials at Sheffield’s. They have a beer of the month (August is Goose Island Summertime Ale) and usually a deal for the day (today was $3 Bud/Bud Lights). The array of drafts at this place is impressive – Anchor Steam, Two Brothers, Dogfish Head, New Holland Mad Hatter and more.  They do have wine (hence the name), but I’ve never had it here.
Service – I actually really liked our server. She was able to talk to the nearby table about the details of their beer selection, I mean to the nitty gritty! She was rattling on about % alcohol and mixtures of hops.

Occasion – You need to come here in summer simply because they have the best beer garden in the city. It’s sort of a sanctuary filled with normal people and beer. This is a great place to meet up with a group of friends. In the winter, you should be able to find room to hang out as the inside space is substantial.

Dress – It’s pretty low key, so your Sunday weekend wear will work just fine.

Cost – I spent a total of $16 for a beer and the beef brisket sandwich. To me, it wasn’t the cheapest. But, I’m not going to stay up at night with buyer’s remorse.

If you like, try…Uberstein, Pontiac

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

