Skip to content

August 6, 2007

2

Ken Kee

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 2129 S. China Place (in the New Chinatown Mall)

In one word – Variety

Food – Based on a recommendation from a GB reader, I decided to try this place.  I had a great time with the cuisine at KK.  They had an illustrative menu (definite plus).  I could see what I was ordering before doing so, which was essential as I was unfamiliar with about everything expect the sweet and sour chicken.  We ended up ordering the white fish fried with a saki sauce, the fried tofu and portobello mushrooms and the orange chicken.  All of which were fantastic, particularly the fish with saki sauce (get that one for sure!).  My eating partner also ordered the fried intestines for himself.  Call me unadventureous, but I didn’t want anything to do with that.  However, props to the restaurant for the variety in the menu.  Offering everything from tofu to intestines, that’s pretty impressive.

Drink – We stuck with the jasmine tea. 

Service – Yeah, we had to request water a couple times, but I’ve had worse service (see my entry on Crust).  All in all, it was fine.

Occasion – This place isn’t a fancy joint.  Come here if you’re craving authentic Chinese food.  Perhaps come with a group of friends.

Dress – Jeans will do you just fine.

Cost – Each entree will run you $6 – $8.  We over ordered, you could easily get by with one entree per person.

If you like, try…Happy Chef, Phoenix

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Matt Jong
    Apr 2 2008

    How do you not have Lao’s in here? Get Tony’s chicken!!

    Reply
  2. Apr 2 2008

    Matt – I’ve already reviewed Lao’s! My whole review was about Tony’s chicken. Glad to know we’re on the same page. – GB

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

