Skip to content

July 20, 2007

Avenue Tavern

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 2916 N. Broadway (Oakdale and Broadway)

http://www.avenuetavern.com/

In one word – Unprepared

Food – I had a lukewarm experience at Avenue.  We were just looking for a casual place for a group to get together for dinner.  This seemed to fit the bill, a step up from bar food, but still in a relaxed bar atmosphere.  For three of us at the table, the steak salad popped out.  Unfortunately at 7:30 pm on a Saturday night, they were out of steak.  I mean, really?  So I ordered the BBQ Chicken pizza.  Call me crazy, but I always measure the BBQ Chicken Pizza against that of California Pizza Kitchen.  With that standard, I felt like Avenue’s had too much cheese (can’t believe I’m saying “too much cheese”).  Friends had the veggie pizza and the caprese sandwich.  Everyone seemed satisfied, though no one was raving.

Drinks – Here’s what I got excited about, they carry the new Miller Chill (which I do like).  Friends got these slurpie looking drinks that were making them smile…and their teeth blue.

Service – Having to deliver news that the restaurant is out of steak to a table full of steak-orderers is no easy task.  I felt like they were nice and attentive given the circumstances?  Would I have liked my drink comped given their lack of ingredient preparation?  Sure, but I’ll let this one go.

Occasion – Any sort of casual friend get-together will work here.

Dress – You can dress it up or down as much as you want. 

Cost – For my Miller Chill and Pizza, I was at $15 with tip.  I thought that was reasonable.

If you like, try…Green Door Tavern

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

