Skip to content

June 20, 2007

1

Citizen

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 364 W. Erie (Erie and Sedgwick)
http://www.citizenbar.com/index.html

In one word – Inept

Food – I was really excited about the menu of salads, paninis and other sandwiches. Unfortunately, I was quite disappointed. I ordered the duck confit salad with corn, arugula and balsamic strawberries. They should have warned me it was a mini portion (and for $10 who really wants to eat a mini salad?) I finished it in about three bites. The taste was adequate. Yes, I would not make duck at home, yet I was not really impressed by the dish. My friend ordered an herbed chicken salad with almonds and goat cheese upon our waitress’s suggestion. The portion was larger but the chicken was tough.

Drink – This was the place’s plus. We went on Tuesday, which is half priced wine day. That meant that our $28 bottle was suddenly $14, magic!

Service – OMG, where to begin? We had about 6 different servers attending to us throughout the evening, none of them capable. Our final and main server seemed dazed and confused. We told her we wanted to order more food (because my starter salad was not sufficient). We got menus (from someone else) and then she forgot about us. As a result, we left and stocked up on food at the Green Door Tavern. If I don’t go back to Citizen, it’s because of the poor poor service.

Occasion – Only come here in the summer. There’s a rooftop patio (which always seems to be booked by a private party) and a side patio. Beware, on a Tuesday night, we were told that the wait for 2 outside was an hour…

Dress – It’s a bit sceney, so you can experiment with that new sundress. Guys are best going the preppy or corporate route.

Cost – Paying for 1/2 priced wine plus one small overpriced salad to me to $20. Note though, I was still hungry when we left.

If you like (or want a place that’s better), try… – Avec

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Katie
    Jun 20 2007

    100% agreed. The only reason I would ever go back is for the 1/2 priced wine and to sit on the patio. Our waitress was a moron and operated on a 10 second delay. Also, my chicken was so dry thank god I had a bottle of wine to wash it down.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

