Skip to content

March 29, 2007

Opera

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 1301 S. Wabash, http://www.opera-chicago.com

In one word – Loud

Food – I’m torn about Opera. The food is well made. Good ingredients, clearly a capable chef, but there’s something about the cuisine as a whole that I don’t get. I understand that the restaurant is supposed to be modern Chinese. However, the menu doesn’t work together all that well. But like I said, the food here is still good. So just because I don’t like the thematic nature of the place doesn’t mean you should write it off all together. If you block it all out and just eat, it’s quite good!

Drink – I didn’t partake in any mixed drinks. I took my server’s advice on white wine and was content.

Service – I have had a couple of experiences at Opera. One time my server had a cooler than thou attitude and wanted to rub it in my face. Appetizing! This last time, I had a slightly dowdy server, who was very willing to share recommendations but didn’t mind that I was a bit snappy and decided to not take her advice. She got a good tip.

Occasion – This place really feels like you’re eating in a club. You can go the date route or go with a big group. The atmosphere aims to be more trendy than other KDK-owned restaurants in my opinion (with the exception of Carnivale).

Dress – Perhaps forgo the sweatshirt (what?!?!) for sleek jeans or a cute dress? Just this once?

Cost – You’ll probably drop $45-50 per person here. It’s more than I usually like to spend, but once in a while I’ll do it.

If you liked…, try – Carnivale, Mirai

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

