Skip to content

February 4, 2007

1

Volare

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 201 E. Grand

www.volarerestaurant.com

In one word – Debatable

Food – One of my friends swears by this place, but I do not. It’s your average Italian restaurant in Chicago. Whoop. Whoop. I was told that whatever I ordered from the menu would be great, so I got the risotto with sausage. The food was so heavy and I was only able to eat a small portion of it. I took the leftovers home and got three more meals out of it. I did feel a little nauseous after eating the leftovers because they went a little crazy with the olive oil. I’m not going to write this place off all together, but I’m not all that anxious to go back.

**I was railed for this review. A trusted source said that Volare’s oysters are the best in the city. So I’m leaving it in your hands now. You decide what you think.

Drink – There is a good sized wine list and they offer Italian beers, so you’ll be well served.

Service – I think this is why people come back here. They really do treat you like family. If they don’t remember you when you come back for a second visit, they do a damn good job of pretending they do. Makes you feel special.

Occasion – I saw a birthday party filled with 30-somethings here. There were some older couples filling up the remaining tables. You’ll also run into your share of tourists because of its location.

Dress – In my sweater and jeans, I was a little underdressed. You’d probably be better off in your classy night out gear.

Cost – Expect to pay $30+ if you’re going to have an entrée and wine.

If you liked…, try – Fornetto Mei

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Jenny
    Jun 21 2007

    If you haven’t been to A Tavola, it’s one of my favorites. Buried in the Ukranian Village in a converted house, it’s got great gnocchi, polenta, etc.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

