Skip to content

November 29, 2006

Cru Cafe and Wine Bar

by gastronomicbypass

Location – 25 E Delaware

In one word – Chatty

Food – Cru has recently reopened after a bit of remodeling. Now it’s connected to the Goddess and the Grocer. All you Dean and Deluca, Southport Grocery and Fox & Obel lovers, you now have refuge in the Gold Coast with Cru. But back to Cru and its food. I was lukewarm towards the cuisine. The Chip and Dip (pita with artichoke, walnut and roasted pepper and finally hummus dips) worked well, but the salads were only adequate. Nothing to get me really excited. But honestly, who goes to Cru for food?

Drink – This is Cru’s forte. Staff here know what they are talking about; I was really satisfied with our waitress’s recommendation (a red from Martinborough County in New Zealand).

Décor – I love the remodeling that was done here. They have kept the comfort level with their cushy couches and low lights. Now the space has been sectioned off into several rooms which keeps the noise level relatively low.

Service – I appreciate that they know what they’re talking about. Or if they don’t, they’re very convincing.

Occasion – A date would be good here. Maybe a second date because the lights are low, so you want to ensure you know what the person looks like before a trip to Cru…I mean, unless you’re desperate or one of those “I just look for a beautiful personality” people (and if that’s the case, we can’t be friends).

Scene – The crowd seems to be an upper 20s, 30s and 40s crowd…which means that I have to behave myself when I go.

Dress – The crowd is not that hip (although I was seated next to a group of Spanish women who looked/acted fabulous!), so choose classy over trendy.

Cost – A bit too expensive for my taste, my portion of the meal (consisting of wine, appetizer and salad) took me to $50 with tip.

If you like…, try – Vintage Wine Bar

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

